Ellyn Satter Institute Books, Videos, and Teaching Packages

Webinar by Ellyn Satter: Resolving the adult weight dilemma

A webinar for professionals by Ellyn Satter


The weight dilemma is that at the same time as we are being told by health policy makers - that any degree of overweight is medically dangerous, there is no way to lose weight and keep it off.  This webinar addresses health policy at the same time as it supports weight-neutral intervention.


2.0 pre-approved Level III CEUs from the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) upon passing of test.  Required for the Treating the Dieting Casualty VISION Workshop


January 30, 2019 1:00-3:00 pm CDT, 2:00-4:00 pm EDT, 12:00-2:00 pm MDT, 11:00-1:00 pm PDT.


Can't make this date and time?  Registering for the webinar gives you access to the recording.


 

Availability: In stock

$35.00

Details

Details

Health policy says to lose weight and keep it off.  The weight dilemma is that it can't be done!  Health policy pathologizes normal weight by defining the normal weight cutoff at the median - BMI (Kg/M2) 24.9 - and stating that it is better to lose and gain it back than not lose at all.  One is reminded of the quandary of Sisyphus, who was condemned to an eternity of pushing a boulder up a mountain, only to have it roll down again.

  • Investigate weight-neutral intervention and the evidence supporting it.
  • Review the consequences of setting the overweight BMI cutoff at 24.9.
  • Understand and have access to the BMI-related mortality and morbidity research.
  • Consider the harm done by health policy on overweight.

Webinar Confirmation:
You will receive email confirmation of your registration with webinar access information within a few days. If confirmation is not received by that time, please contact us at [email protected] and we’ll get that information to you right away.

Reviews

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Webinar by Ellyn Satter: Resolving the adult weight dilemma

Tags

Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.